Firestorm vs Fireball Ignite

I would say im a an undergrad when it comes to POE PHD knowledge level. I get most the mechanics but not this one.

Can someone compare these 2 skills for me in terms of ignite? Am i correct in my understanding that when ignite calculated from base damage, takes the skills base damage + any added damage multiplied by anything on the gem?

Basically, I dont understand why an ignite base hit would be affected by firestorms first hit bonus of 150%, but it doesnt get effected by any node that would give you say 20% increased fire.

How would you compare firestorm lvl 20 vs fireball lvl 20 BASEHIT if you had this
100 added fire spell damage from gear
100% increased firedamage from tree
10% more fire damage from another source

Last bumped on Jan 14, 2021, 6:25:32 PM
essentially any increases to fire damage will increase both damage, the hit and the ignite. the difference is ignite doesn't care about the hit damage. it used to, now it doesn't. as you say its about the base damage.

you have base hit damage and base ignite damage (based on the base hit damage). % fire damage will increase the hit damage, good if you're focusing on hits, and it will increase the ignite damage, good if you're focusing on ignite.

since you want to focus on ignite lets focus on that.
point is, % increase damage will not matter when comparing skills, since its about the base damage of the skill. any % increases will apply to both equally.
now, adding base damage is a bit different because skill gems have a different "effectiveness of added damage", so this is worth comparing.

so fireball
base damage of 1643
39% ignite chance
88% more damage with ignite
massive 240% effectiveness of added damage

firestorm
base damage of 311
250% more damage

so, comparing the two is pretty easy. fireball is WAY FUCKING BETTER

not only as a base gem for ignite, but its also a projectile and can utilize Flame Wall and apply its fire damage over time effect to everything hit.