Ever since the introduction of hideouts in Path of Exile almost 6 years ago, our players have surprised us with their creativity when it comes to decorating dwellings for their Exiles. This week, we spent some time talking to Path_of_DerroK, one of our most popular hideout creators in our community and veteran Path of Exile player. In this interview DerroK has also provided a lot of useful tips for fellow hideout creators.

Hi DerroK! Thanks for taking the time to answer our questions! Please introduce yourself.

Hi! Thank you very much for arranging this interview and inviting me to participate.

My name is Andrey, but I don't mind being called DerroK. Around 10 years ago, while playing World of Warcraft, I met a player with the nickname "DerroK" in Dalaran and I just liked this nickname very much!

I live in Russia and I work from home, offering a typography service in my city. I started playing games at the age of four. I remember launching Diablo I for the first time and spending the whole year playing it.

Path of Exile helped me to discover my second hobby - creating hideouts.

When did you first get into Path of Exile?

I started playing Path of Exile in 2013. After spending enough time in Diablo 3, my friends and I decided to try Path of Exile and I suggested playing in the Hardcore league straight away. At that time the Nemesis League was active. As a result, all my friends left the game after the very first death. My character survived, so I decided to play solo and here I am, 7 years later, still playing Path of Exile. I've played Hardcore only for about three years, then tried other modes as well. I have around 20 characters on 100 level in different game modes (SC, HC, SSFSC, SSFHC) and I have also won several Flashback events by finishing first with various Ascendancy classes.

When did you first take an interest in decorating hideouts?