Interview with Composer Kamil Orman-Janowski

Thanks for taking the time to sit down for an interview! Can you introduce yourself?

My name is Kamil Orman-Janowski, and I'm a music composer.

How long have you been creating music for? Did you always want to be a composer?

I've listened to soundtracks for as long as I can remember, but never planned on making music. In high school, I started using simple audio software and tried to make EDM (electronic dance music) tracks. That was a lot of fun, so I took one step forward and I made some trance and progressive house music and sent them to a british dance music label.

Everything started with my first official release. My journey with EDM is another story, but it opened a door for orchestral music as well as electronic and finally brought me to the soundtrack, and I instantly realized that that is the right path for me. The EDM was only a warm up.

How did you get in contact with the Grinding Gear Games team?

That was more than two years ago. Erik got in contact with the company for which I composed music as a freelancer, and ever since then I've been composing the score for Path of Exile.

What is the hardest part about making music for Path of Exile?

The problem of making music for PoE is not specific to PoE itself but rather the RPG/Hack-n-slash genre. Music needs to fit the constantly changing intensity of fights, as well as any breaks (like sorting your inventory on the battlefield or chatting with other players). It was quite difficult for me at beginning because I wanted to bring a much more varied dynamic, which was more suitable for linear imagery like movies and cutscenes where you know exactly what's going to happen.

Also Path of Exile is set in a much darker and more violent world than other dark fantasy games i know, but it's not a problem; it's rather a challenge to keep music darker, deeper and more adult or enigmatic, and of course bring a lot of fire ;)