How/Why Do People Stand Hardcore?

To start, I love permadeath in almost all games. It's a great, thrilling mechanic when it's used well, and when I started playing PoE I was sure I'd want to switch over to HC after learning the ropes.

However, after many, many standard characters of practice, there's still no way I would ever play Hardcore.

It has nothing to do with the game being punishing, because it really isn't in most cases. Avoiding death becomes pretty simple after a while, assuming you are in control of your character. No, the reason I would never play Hardcore is because this game's netcode, in my experience, just straight up can't handle it.

If I'm being generous, about 50% of my deaths are deaths that I could have done ANYTHING about. That's not deaths where desync wasn't involved, that's just deaths where I could have played around the possibility of desync better and survived as a result. The other 50% of my deaths are walking somewhere and then "oh, apparently I'm dead." Dead to monsters I had never seen, dead to warping to an area I had never been to, dead when there weren't any monsters around at all.

It's not horribly frequent, maybe once every twenty or so high level maps, but in a permadeath game that's still absolutely unacceptable. If I'm honest, it feels too frequent even for an exp penalty. Punishing players for your bad game engine is a really, REALLY poor design decision.

I know it isn't my internet, because my connection can handle any other multiplayer game I throw at it. I don't never lag in other games, but this is the only one in which lag will routinely kill me without my being able to so much as see what happened.