Just starting playing Poe!

Just starting playing Path of Exile a week ago, and I'm already Lvl. 35 (dunno if that's an achievement or not :P). But I'm almost done Act 3, and I feel like there's a lot to do that I haven't done yet. What happens after Act 3?

I'm new to the whole ARPG genre (never played any other diablo-esque game before), so I'm not sure what I should be doing.

I know I probably screwed up my passive skill tree, but I'm fine with it.

I just want to know if there's anything a new player like me should be doing or looking out for...because this game is oddly entertaining, and I want to get the most out of what POE has to offer. Also, what are these "Corrupted" areas I keep seeing. I just avoid them because it looks like something I'm supposed to do at a higher level.

After act 3, you restart the game (keeping your character's levels and items) on a harder difficulty, Cruel. After that, you restart again on an even harder difficulty, Merciless. Then you get to do Maps, which are special items you'll find at high levels that open up a zone for you to clear once with special, random properties to keep them from getting too stale.

Doing corrupted areas is fine. They're based on the level of the zone you found them in, so if you're doing fine in that zone, you should be good to try them out.

As to what you're probably doing wrong, Defense > Offense
Welcome to wraeclast and the genre, theres a few things to note that may not be obvious.

*You repeat the game on a difficulty level the only way to reach the next difficulty is to beat the one ur currently on, you will keep ur character will be intact with gear gems and level.

*when you beat the final boss make sure to look around there will be a portal that will take you to the next difficulty. The portal is likely a placeholder until the next act is in the game.