[1.2.0 updated] Dauemannen's Mjölner build - Facetank Everything

Possible 1.2.0 builds

Actually looks a lot better after some tweaking than it did at first glance. Needs a bit more strength from gear than before. For a lot of nodes we can choose between 5% life or increased damage.

IMO the best option until the mid 90s.

Not a lot worse, and not worth rerolling if you already have a high level witch.

IMO the best when you're level 95+, but also needs that level to work properly.

For all hybrid builds we still need 3G3R, which is near impossible to get on a pure int chest, so we'll want a Saintly or Carnal.

I'll be playing the new challenge leagues, where I naturally can't afford a Mjölner, at least for a while. So I'll not be able to test this build properly. But if anyone has feedback it's very welcome.

Last edited by Dauemannen on Aug 19, 2014, 8:46:17 AM
Old first post (needed to split into two because it's too long)

This is my first time sharing a build, so you'll have to excuse the probably bad quality of the guide. But it will get better.

The goal of this build is to utilize the insane damage of Mjölner to dedicate almost the entire passive tree to improve my defences. The result is a build that can facetank almost any enemy and ignore most of the game's damage mechanics. It achieves this through capped block and spell block, a relatively big effective life pool from from Cloak of Defiance's mind over matter, and lots of life and mana on hit.

The build's main pros and cons are

Pros
- Awesome DPS against packs and very good damage versus rares and bosses result in very good clear speed
- 77% block and up to 75% spell block means we very rarely get hit. Add in Blind for good measure
- Can do any map mod and probably any combination of mods, but some combinations will kill the unattentive player
- Can facetank all the map bosses with ease, though some mods might make some bosses dangerous
- Only takes half effect from curses

Cons