A Veteran's Proposal for a Self Found League - Poll Included!

Poll here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/LVR788Y

14 April poll results to-date (682 respondents):
68% in favour of testing a dedicated SFL
19% not in favour of testing a dedicated SFL
13% maybe in favour, depending on the details

Hello folks, I am a long-time PoE player, with a joining date of August 2011. The purpose of this post is to attempt to contribute constructively to the on-going debate around a self-found league (SFL). For the purposes of this post, I define a SFL as a league in which all items are bound-on-pickup, although this particular definition is not central to the thesis presented below.

I'm well aware of Chris' views on a SFL, so no need to restate them here.

I have played extensively throughout Closed Beta and since then, including Alpha for a time. Historically, I have been a relatively active trader and for my first couple of years of playing I was against any SFL. My opinion has changed and is summarised below:

1. A SFL will stimulate new and renewed interest in playing PoE
I believe that a SFL will attract many new players to PoE and also many retired players back to PoE. I feel strongly that, for very many people, systematised trading (I'm looking at you poe.xyz.is), running maps and grinding from 90-100 eventually becomes a tiresome chore. It certainly has for me and for the vast majority of my friends, who no longer play for this very reason. GGG have the data and will of course have their own views of the stickiness of PoE over time for players, but my conviction is that the introduction of a SFL will see a material net increase in PoE's player base. I believe it makes good business and gaming sense.

2. A SFL preserves the feeling of progress and accomplishment of a new league