Getting to the end game takes too long

This has always been my impression of the game, and even though I currently feel that the game is in a much better spot than before, this issue still stands.

Back-story: I started playing in Beyond league, a start from scratch just like everyone else. Of course I had to play conservatively, and try to outlevel the zones I am in by a little just to be safe. My character died at level 62 after a total amount played of 20 hours (solo progression). I learned something from my death (getting 1 shot by Perpetus means I have to either avoid him or gain better physical burst mitigation by that time, via Armor or CWDT), still what saddens me is that in order to put into application what I just leared, I am going to first have to spend at least 10-15 hours to level a character back to that point.

The description of the issue.

PoE is a game made around building characters and taking them to the end game where the loot chase commences. Most builds only start functioning at around level 55-60 where you have enough points to be able to get defenses and offenses from the tree. Also a good number of 4L items are necessary.

It is pretty obvious that PoE is a game made around rerolling new characters very often. This means replaying through the Normal-Cruel-Merciless cycle quite often.

For Normal mode, the length is pretty much natural. It needs to introduce players to the game and for the new player it needs to feel like a full game. On the other hand, Merciless is where the character build becomes to shape up, all the challenges and constraints are in full effect and it's effectively where the most difficult content lies.