Is PoE becoming D3? All crit all the time?

As a D3 vet I remember in D3 it was easy and simplistic to evaluate gear. CC CD IAS on gear with a huge DPS weapon - all the time - every class - end of story. Seems to me the most powerful builds here do the same thing starting from dischargers to flicker strike nukes to latest Shatter Chuck witch.

I'm not sure if this is a good direction. Makes the "diversity" this game is purported to have not really that diverse. I mean it's diverse until you discover or buy crit gear but at the end of the game you want to have a crit build.

ONe thing I'd like to see is slow weapons and 2 hdrs get some love. like damage over time effects damage should be calculated via 1/IAS thus they would get some use in. I'm sure there are plenty of suggestions but crit can't be the only end game build.
Git R Dun!
Last edited by Aim_Deep on Aug 31, 2014, 2:07:11 PM
This thread has been automatically archived. Replies are disabled.
Wait, so you're telling me the best way to improve my damage in both PoE and D3 is to pick mods that improve my damage?

I'm shocked, shocked I say.
path of exile has always been about crit
"Now I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."
Not at all. Im asking if it's too simplistic and excludes other ways. RF with health = DPS seemed to be something different than all crit all the time but really can't compare.
Git R Dun!
"
Aim_Deep wrote:
As a D3 vet I remember in D3 it was easy and simplistic to evaluate gear. CC CD IAS on gear with a huge DPS weapon - all the time - every class - end of story. Seems to me the most powerful builds here do the same thing starting from dischargers to flicker strike nukes to latest Shatter Chuck witch.

I'm not sure if this is a good direction. Makes the "diversity" this game is purported to have not really that diverse. I mean it's diverse until you discover or buy crit gear but at the end of the game you want to have a crit build.