How did GGG lose touch with the silent majority?

Perhaps they listened to much to the vocal minority...

I started playing this game back in February of 2013, and I have spent a stupid amount of money in this game. And to me every dollar has been well worth it. But that's not what this post is about.

Back in 2013 i fell in love with PoE, it was an exciting new take on action RPG. It made me feel what I felt when i discovered Diablo I in my teens. I was hooked and played more or less every opportunity I could get. My friends and I spent many late nights trying to progress in this new marviolers world we had discovered (the story was crap but the game was fun and for us that is all it takes). As we aproached the end game we encountered a new problem, one that eventuelly would make all my friends leave the game, making me the soul survivor of the Public Enemies. Now some of you current PoE players will think it was because the game was to hard or something along those lines but that was not at all the case. We would farm low or mid tier maps for days untill we had 3-4 high tier maps that we could play together... back then high tier maps was worth more than anything else. So left alone in this world of PoE i found likeminded people, people who did not mind grinding for days to be able to play 3-4 maps together. After a very long time and many people complaining about this issue with map scarcity even I and the most presistant players started to give up.

So i took a brake from the game...