Idea to help with retaining casual players

I'm a POE vet that has been playing for a long time, and after adopting a different approach to the game I've found I experience much less burnout. In short, I create multiple characters very early into the league that are different archetypes. If we can get casual players (let's define that as under 100 hours a league) more variety in gameplay without a ton of time investment it could greatly improve how much they enjoy early mapping and introduce them to more of the endgame systems they'd otherwise never see.

Too often I think people get caught up in making it to the very end of the game where the rewards are the best, so they completely lose sight of having fun along the way. Typically this is done by choosing a meta build that can grind out content on a low level of gear until you start completing the full atlas and creating the 2nd character you actually want to play. This is completely a trap for a casual player since the reality is they likely won't reach true endgame on their own. So how can we maximize the fun that player has when they aren't getting the juiciest drops? Provide them more variety in gameplay, a wider range of usable items, and allow specialization so they don't need a single character that does everything well. Unfortunately a playthrough of the campaign can take between 15-20 hours for many players. So it isn't unlikely a player would play for a week and not even get to maps. Imagine this player chose a build that they no longer enjoy, do you honestly think they are going to have the patience to reroll from scratch?