As many of you already know, we recently hired Openarl, a well known member of the community who developed the community tool, 'Path of Building'. Having worked with us for just over a month, we wanted to share some insight about Openarl's background and time with us.

Hi Openarl, thank you for taking part in the interview! Please tell us a little about yourself.

Hi! I’m Openarl, I’m 32 years old, and originally from Brisbane, Australia; but I’ve recently moved to Auckland to work as a gameplay programmer here at Grinding Gear Games.

The community is already familiar with you for your work on Path of Building. What made you decide to start this project?

I’ve always enjoyed theorycrafting in games but when I started playing Path of Exile I found that the existing 3rd-party tools only allowed for certain parts of a character’s build to be planned out and none offered detailed DPS calculations, so I decided to create something to fill the gaps.

Initially it just took the form of a DPS calculator that was for my use only, but I gradually expanded it to cover other aspects of build planning, and then eventually decided to release it for the community to enjoy as well.

What are the main challenges and highlights of maintaining this community tool?

Keeping up with the pace of the game’s development has always been the biggest challenge; especially since I’m also trying to work through a backlog of older game features that need to be supported, while also adding new features to the program itself to improve usability. Trying to replicate some of the more unusual mechanics has been quite challenging as well.

The periods around league launches are always special; the hype, the energy transfers, and the mad rush to implement the latest goodies. It’s always great to see community’s response once I finally get to hit the “release” button!

How did you come to work at Grinding Gear Games?