[2.2] Varunastra Gladiator (budget, 78/78% block, 10k armor, 25k+ DPS)

http://pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Varunastra

Varunastra is a new weapon that came with the Ascendancy patch and is exclusive to the Perandus leagues. Its unique property of "counts as all one handed melee weapon types" is what makes the weapon amazing.

This property allows it to take advantage of a few choice node clusters that boost multiple weapon types simultaneously. Namely, the Deadly Dilettante and By The Blade clusters near the Duelist and Marauder sections respectively. The result is extremely efficient damage per skill point, which lets you spend more points on defenses without needing to compromise.

DISCLAIMER:
This build is meant to be a budget option for those unable or unwilling to spend an abundance of currency just to experience the end game. If you have the currency to spend, there are much better builds available to you. Additionally, I AM BY NO MEANS AN EXPERT so please take any information presented with a grain of salt. There may be more efficient skill tree routes, more mathematically effective choices, etc. However I will do my best to keep the guide updated with any additional information.

With that being said, here's a quick rundown of the build.

(Note that this is at level 72 with Tempest Shield and 6 endurance charges up.)

(Note that this is at level 72 with Hatred, Herald of Ash, and Flame Golem up. The skill gems are leveled as follows: lvl 17 Double Strike, lvl 17 Melee Splash, lvl 16 Multistrike, lvl 13 Melee Physical Damage, lvl 17 Faster Attacks, lvl 13 Added Fire Damage and all have 0% quality.)
Last edited by Endler on Mar 11, 2016, 12:52:03 AM
Last bumped on May 13, 2016, 7:19:56 AM

The passive tree is fairly straightforward, and will be the same no matter what skills you choose to use.

Low level: