New Player and Flicker Strike

Greetings All,

I am new to POE. I saw a video demonstrating flicker strike, and fell in love with the build idea. The author's original skill tree looked as such:

www.poeurl.com/bcEH

I know that this "works" because I saw it, but I feel that the build focuses too much on damage and is too lacking in life and toughness, and that maybe the author got by on insanely good gear (gear which I will not have as I am new).

I modified the build:

www.poeurl.com/bcEL

Here I gain larger amounts of Life, Resistances, and Crit. Chance. I am trying to create a build that focuses on Physical Damage and Critical Strikes. I will try to acquire a Terminus Est sword to feed me Frenzy charges.

My questions are: did I have a valid concern with the original build? And now in this new build, if I do need to use it, could a Min/Maxer help me finalize it? The new tree is skill hungry, it requires level 90 to finish - I'd rather be closer to level 80 to reach that point.

My thanks in advance for your time and consideration.
Last bumped on Mar 28, 2017, 4:38:19 AM
Also, is there a time I should stop leveling the Flicker Strike and Leap Attack skill gems ?
Alright, I'm going to break this down into a list since it got a little long. (keystrokes, keystrokes)

First things first. I don't know what video you watched since it wasn't linked in this thread, but there's already a crit flicker build in this subforum. It's written by the same player who wrote the non-crit flicker build I'm currently using and I've made it to the end game of Poe. He's got great advice, gear suggestions and 10 point by 10 point skill tree's.

Now then, onto the problems I've noticed.