Continuing on with our streamer interview series, we took a moment to get to know more about Subtractem! His streams are insightful and entertaining and he also creates great Path of Exile content on his YouTube channel. Check out the interview in today's post!

Hi Subtractem, thank you for taking part in the interview! Please introduce yourself.

Hi, I'm Adam and I primarily stream Path of Exile at http://twitch.tv/subtractem. I worked in the game industry for over two decades and have competed in different genres of games across the spectrum. I had an offer to go pro in Warcraft 3 many years ago but got a real job instead, regrettably.

I do lots of educational focused content and grind ranked in some games once in a while when the competitive bug bites...until I remember why I stopped grinding ranked.

When did you first get into Path of Exile?

I started back in Perandus League, not an OG player by any means but early enough that I remember farming Dried Lake and taking 20+ deaths every time I fought Merciless Malachai.

What one thing caught your attention in the beginning and what one thing kept you coming back?

I think pretty much everyone's first big memory of PoE is opening up the passive tree. I love passive/skill trees in all games and the more complex the happier I am.

What really kept me coming back, however, was the support gem system. Players always having multiple choices to customize to their tastes without an objective "bigger number is always better" allows for unique build expression, even within the same build template. This level of customization is very special to me in RPGs and I feel has been largely lost in the modern era of Power/Item Level.

Are there any highlights from your time playing Path of Exile that stand out in your memory?

There are so many in the past two years of streaming especially but two memories really stick in my head: