Mapping and Sextants, Questions from a Designer's Point of View

Hello, My name is Airrows. IRL I am an experience designer, think of it like an UX designer not focused on Screens.

I have some questions and concerns about the the Mapping system and its interaction with the design of sextants.

Forum Context
I haven't used the forums too often so I'm not exactly sure where to put this. Grinding Gear Games staff, please let me know if it needs to go somewhere else. I have recently come back to the game with the release of 3.1 War for the Atlas and the Abyss league. I hadn't experienced the Fall of Oriath expansion until this league.
I'm sure there have been similar questions before as these systems have been in the game for a while, so please be patient with me.

Main Context
I want to say that that I really enjoyed the addition and variation of content that came with the addition of War for the Atlas and Fall of Oriath.

First, the diversity of the environments ranging from sunken reefs, climbing the lighthouse, the Cathedral rooftops, the Glided city of Oriath, and the transformation that it underwent during the campaign added both literal and figurative depth to the game and story. I thought the utilization of previous areas and characters in the second act was clever and it was intriguing to see the growth of certain characters (Yeena, etc) and
Spoiler
the demise of others (Nessa, Greust).