Oh Boy... Oh Geez... Crit chance is confusing...

Guys/gals,

I am very new to POE, around 30 days play time (D3 player for years, wish I would have switched earlier). I have been reading up on crit chance for my Tectonic Slam Marauder and I am now more confused... I am wondering about two specific crit modifiers. Global crit chance on a jewel VS Melee crit chance. If both Jewels have an 11% chance which one is better? I run tectonic slam, leap, and ancestral war chief totem.

And any character critiquing would be welcome as well! I am currently running T7 alched maps with few deaths if any.
Last bumped on Apr 20, 2018, 2:11:49 AM
"
Guys/gals,

I am very new to POE, around 30 days play time (D3 player for years, wish I would have switched earlier). I have been reading up on crit chance for my Tectonic Slam Marauder and I am now more confused... I am wondering about two specific crit modifiers. Global crit chance on a jewel VS Melee crit chance. If both Jewels have an 11% chance which one is better? I run tectonic slam, leap, and ancestral war chief totem.

And any character critiquing would be welcome as well! I am currently running T7 alched maps with few deaths if any.

Depending on how you're using them, there is no difference between those mods. One applies to everything including spells, and the other is limited only to melee attacks. If you're a melee build using only melee skills then they are equal.
Study and use poe wiki.
pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Critical_strike
"
Guys/gals,

The posts above me are correct.

The difference to Tectonic Strike is 0 for both those modifiers. However, If you use a build which incorporates other damage types the global crit can be better.

What's interesting is that a lot of people stack crit (global, local, melee, specific damage type crit) but still complain because the forget about the other part of it: Accuracy.

You have to hit before you can crit. :)