Lets talk about Armour, Energy Shield, and Evasion.

Disclaimer: I'm mainly a HC player and the following concerns are going to reflect that.

So I've played a Witch and a Ranger to 25+ now, and it seems to me that Energy Shield is just vastly superior to Evasion when it really matters (I have no experience with Armour so I don't know how that compares).

Here's the problem.

When you get critted by one of the many enemies capable of dishing out massive crits as a Witch you get a big dent in your shield, after which you can scurry off to safety and recharge.

When you get critted by one of the many enemies capable of dishing out massive crits as a Ranger you get a big dent in your HP pool, after which you will probably die.

With the Ranger I was running into problems as early as Act 2 on normal that I never experienced as a Witch simply because the shield is always on and always helpful.

Now obviously, Evasion can't be always on, but the fact that it isn't means that it is useless when it really matters. Most people don't die by continuously taking sustained damage; they die when they get surprised by massive crits. This hits Rangers especially hard since they rely solely on Evasion in virtue of being the only pure Dex class.

Fortunately I think there's a pretty simple solution: the Ranger just needs more HP to compensate for the lack of Armour and Energy Shield (consider how much higher the effective HP of a Witch is compared to a Ranger of a similar level).

Granted, things might change as you get higher level, but at least there are talents to increase shield capacity. The poor, poor Ranger on the other hand only gets talents to increase Evasion, which doesn't really help to rectify the problem.
Last edited by gilligan on Aug 12, 2011, 9:29:43 AM
Last bumped on Apr 24, 2018, 3:47:49 PM
This thread has been automatically archived. Replies are disabled.