[3.0] SC/HC Essence Drain Progression - MoM to LL

[Further updates inc]I have tried to maintain a guide for Essence Drain for a while now. I started playing ED at the end of 2.1. Since then, I have played ED characters as league starter for every single league. I played Witch before Ascendancy, then Ascendant, Trickster, Occultist and Necromancer ED in other leagues. I feel this makes me slightly qualified to spew some information and hopefully help someone who wants to try out Essence Drain.

The Essence Drain play style is a synergy between Essence Drain and Contagion. Essence Drain is a projectile spell that applies a strong damage over time effect to the target. Contagion is an area of effect spell that deals weaker damage over time to targets. When a target affected by Contagion dies, both Essence Drain and Contagion DoT effects on that target are applied to nearby enemies. This means you first apply Contagion, then fire an Essence Drain into the enemies. When the first enemy dies, Essence Drain is spread to everything and your job is done.

This video shows off how the build plays when it is "done":
Mind over Matter Essence Drain Versus all four Guardians and Shaper
Uber Atziri
Uber Labyrinth

3.0 changed my favorite part of the ED play style. We can no longer swap back and fourth between decay and poison play styles, which makes the progression of the character much more straight forward. With the recent changes to ES, I also feel that CI is much weaker than it used to be relative to the other parts of our progression, so personally I would skip going CI, and jump straight from a life based character to a low life character. There are a ton of Essence Drain guides, but everyone has different ideas. These days we all run pretty similar builds due to less variation in gearing. This shortens the guide considerably, so here are my thoughts on how to progress an ED character in 3.0:

Why play this kind of Essence Drain?