[1.3] Dual Wield Axe Shocker - High HP, Balanced Atk/Def, Cheap, Fun!

Greetings! Welcome to the Dual Wield Axe Shocker build guide. This is my first guide. I consider myself a casual player, though lately I’ve been able to play a lot due to my holidays. I usually prefer developing my own builds instead of using other people’s builds (though I do that sometimes, which can also be fun). I’ve been trying to make many different builds since I started playing PoE about a year ago, and this is the first one I think deserves a build guide. Hope you enjoy!

This a melee build that dual wields axes, benefiting from skills that attack with both axes at the same time (Cleave and Dual Strike), and taking advantage of the high physical base damage of the axes to deliver lots of DPS. The main mechanic is to convert our physical damage to lightning damage using the Physical to Lightning support gem. This gem was introduced in 1.3.0 and the reason why it’s powerful in this build is that it allows us to scale lightning damage off of our high physical damage, which wasn’t possible before patch 1.3.0. The purpose of getting high lightning damage is to able to shock our enemies, placing a debuff which increases all damage they take by 50%.

Sources of lightning damage in this game usually provide a very wide range of rolls. If you use the Wrath aura, or Herald of Thunder, or the Added Lightning Damage gem, etc, you’ll notice they always add a small minimum value and a high maximum value. Something like “Adds 5 – 120 lightning damage”. This gives lightning damage great potential but makes it a little inconsistent: in the example above, you can either deal 5 or 120 damage, depending on rolls.