Someone please tell me if I get end-game right

Hello folks,
I am new to Path of Exile, and this is actually the first time I'm posting in these forums.
First let me tell you that this game really exceeded my expectations, and I had a really great time testing it so far. I'm a Diablo player, been playind D2 for about 10 years, went through D3 inferno and HC lvl 60, about 300 hours played, 4200 achievements, but this game really didn't have a good feeling for me. In its current beta state, I think PoE is already MUCH MORE finished then D3 (alpha) is.

So I've unlocked the end-game "maps". I've been looking for infos but I'm not certain about what I'm doing. Please tell me if I'm wrong.
From what I understand :

-Maps can only drop from level 60+ monsters
-Ancient pyramid has level 58 monsters
-Champions (magic) monsters in that area are lvl 59 and rare/elite monsters are lvl 60. So in order to farm maps, you need to only kill those yellow/rare monsters in that area.
-Vaal's oversoul is lvl 60? (guess)

So far I've killed the act 2 boss in merciless 3 times, and I haven't seen a map yet. I'm not sure of what I'm looking for, it could be white/blue/yellow, what does it looks like? What's the name of the item?
On average, how much "vaal runs" you may do to find a map?

Thanks in advance for your much appreciated answers and feedback!
Actually maps drop from level 53+ mobs, although all mobs in the Vaal Pyramid area have an increased chance to drop them.

Maps have a white border around them since the latest patch, they're impossible to miss now (as long as you have white items shown).
Thanks for this info! That's great, so I won't have to only kill those rare monsters, which is pretty annoying!
I already found my first map, yipee!

Can anyone tell me if my other assumptions are right?
Last edited by Metadopa on Aug 11, 2012, 2:58:39 PM
The best way to get maps is to buy them from people who have plenty of them.
Build of the week #2 : http://tinyurl.com/ce75gf4
"