How can one have a decent build?

I started playing the gave not long time ago so am still new and confused by it. I built 3 'OK-ish' characters using guides. I managed to get them to LVL 70+ but can't complete any of them as per guides as can't afford the gear they need.
How can one afford the gear OR how can one find it?
It seems that all the gear I find is for characters I don't have nor plan to have.
Last bumped on Dec 24, 2023, 9:38:21 AM
There is a lot to address here. It's good that you're following builds as a newer player as that can be a pittfall if you try to build on your own.

You have 3 characters that you say you can't "complete" and I believe you mean endgame gear. The trick here first is to pick the one you find the most fun and go from there. Then, if you're able to do white maps, that's where you will start farming for currency.

If none of those 3 characters are able to farm at white maps then make sure you are covering your gaps. Check your defensive layers per the guide you're following to include Capping your resistances, armor/evas, energy shield, life. Your guide should hopefully explain the defensive and offensive layers you're aiming for. At a MINIMUM you need 75% res in white maps.

As for farming for currency this is a HUGE topic. Just like your build you are going to want to find what you find fun, which might be hard at this stage. Youtube will be your friend here. Watching explanations on the different options like Blight, Ritual, Expedition, etc. Some people might try to tell you X is the only way to get stuff done but if you hate it, you won't play it or won't play it well, and you won't "earn currency."

This post can go on and on and on. I'm sure you have more questions, keep asking them even if you get "get gud" responses. Youtube will help a lot with the basics too if your guide doesn't but do be careful with the age of some videos as this game can evolve fast.