A brand new player's attempt to get a clue and 36 challenges

I started playing the game a week before the end of the ultimatum league. SSF really appeals to me, so the extent of my play so far was to level until the end of act 3 in standard to unlock SSF, played the storyline once in SSF ultimatum with a necromancer minion, zombies & skellies & spectres, oh my. That went reasonably well, made it to end of campaign no worries, discovered I was very squishy and I could kill lots of things but would sometimes randomly die without warning, or at least without anything I noticed as a warning.

League ended, in the week between leagues I decided to try hardcore SSF. This time a burning arrow elementalist, which was going really well, I was much tankier, happily nuking things, got a surprise on Dominus when I thought I'd killed him, sat back and grabbed drink bottle, only to be surprised by one more phase. Did the headless chicken dance to dodge things, had I think many stacks of bleed, stood still and emptied both life flasks, watched HP go down under 50 before the bleed dropped off and it recovered. Stuff like that makes HC fun. :D

Rolled on, think it was Innocence that I was fighting, all was again going well until the surprise new 1-shot mechanic right near the end of the fight. Giant golden ball of doom rolls across the floor while covering the floor in lightning. Tried to dodge as much as possible, stepped in front of the ball, was instantly squished. Stuff like that makes HC no fun. :(