Level 92 Freezing Pulse/Frost Bomb Elementalist Needing Build Help

I have a level 92 Crit Based Elementalist which I've been playing off and on since 2013 and I generally love the character and playstyle (I've tried a slew of other skills but FP/FB just resonated with me the most).

Lately I've been feeling frustrated with the lack of both adequate DPS and defenses as I tackle tier 14+ maps and Uber Atziri.

I've been playing strictly in the standard league as a SSF character (since before SSF league was a thing) and I've been fairly lucky with gear thusfar.

I'm using MoM, Arctic Armor and CODT+IC (as well as some golem tanking using minion life and meat shield) as my primary defenses. I used to have mana leech support (swapped it for Arcane Surge recently) attached to FP for mana pool sustain for MoM but since the gem now only supports attack skills I've been struggling to find a way to compensate.

I die every 3-4 maps, whether I attempt the boss or not, to OHK or very quick attacks from, usually ranged, enemies as I cannot get out of the way fast enough most times due to lag or just slightly slow reaction time (both of which I've tried to fix but have realized there's nothing I can do about either at this point).

I have tried swapping flasks around to include more utility/defense oriented ones like Basalt, Granite, Quartz, Jade but after trying each for several months I found my survivability didn't really increase so I've been sticking mostly with life flasks now.

I've also been struggling to get my total life pool to anything above 5.3k and I know some of that is gear and some of it is passives but I don't trade and, through tinkering, I've found that adding more life nodes takes a significant toll on my already subpar dps.

Essentially, I'm not sure where to go from here so I thought I'd post here and maybe get some suggestions for things I haven't thought of.

Thanks in advance!
Last bumped on Feb 13, 2020, 8:09:21 AM
Hello Exile!