[3.7] Occultist CWC Icestorm Theory Crafting

This is my first attempt at formulating a build, so please forgive my obvious mistakes/typos if any. And feel free to help me examining the viability of the build (SC recommended).
I usually play in the Chinese server but I will try to reply to any enquiries as soon as I can.

To start with, this build exploits the buffed cyclone skill gem to provoke the intrinsic ice storm skill on the unique staff, namely, Whispering Ice.

This bad boy.

With the cast when channelling support gem, the ice storm skill can be provoked around 3 times per second, with theoretically 10 impacts per cast per second. The DPS of ice storm is further increased through increased skill duration as multiple impacts occur which stack on each other.
With around 6.5s skill duration, 3 casts/s, and 10 impacts/cast*s, a maximum of 195 impacts/hits with ice shards may be achieved.

Both the attack and defence mechanisms of this build are based on the assumed 195 hit/s hit rate. The defence mechanism exploits the discipline mode modifier of energy shield gain on hit, and as we multiply the 20-30 energy shield gain per hit with 195 hit/s hit rate, around 3900-5850 instant energy shield gain per second is obtained.

Without further ado is the pastebin link for the CWC icestorm occultist build: https://pastebin.com/EsBbMat0

Points to be noted:
1) This is a theoretical build not yet proven viable in the legion league.
2) Due to the unique equipment requirements, it can not be used as league
starters
3) The build lack physical damage reduction, which may be troublesome as
merely two defensive skills are adopted in this build, respectively,
immortal call and steelskin
4) pastebin link updated with further optimised tree, we are now at 120k per impact!

Thank you for your time and hope you enjoyed this build/idea.

Last edited by Inluca on Jun 20, 2019, 4:29:27 PM
Last bumped on Jul 13, 2019, 4:25:39 PM