What are oprtimal support gems to link a fire trap with ?

im studying and revising my fire summoner witch to make it just fire witch with fire traps

already have some burning passives and gear

but would like to know from other pro players what are the best support gems to use with fire traps

i dont have crit passives so increased crit damage is out of the equation

should i put chance to ignote or added lightning damage

also if I add life leech, do i earn life leech from the burning damage ? or just the explotion?
Last edited by jazf on Mar 9, 2013, 2:08:38 PM
Added lightning damage only applies on the explosion, so it is pretty terrible. The best things to link depend on what you want to do with it. Do you consider it a boss killer, or a primary AoE ability? If the former, link concentrated effect, if the latter, link increased area of effect. If you link a second support, go with either chance to ignite or duration. Since you have the burning passives I'd probably go chance to ignite.

So you'd have a 4-link that was basically fire trap, fire trap, concentrated effect, chance to ignite.

If you go the AoE route, elemental proliferation also isn't a bad thing to link, so fire trap, fire trap, increased AoE, elemental proliferation. That will mostly ignite everything in a wide range, with every trap.

That's what I use on my fire trap witch, currently level 74. I started out as a crit based fireball build and transitioned to fire trap in merciless, and dropped most of my crit nodes for health and regular fire/spell/elemental damage nodes. It works really well in pretty much any situation except occasionally trying to throw traps through doorways bugs out. I can kill Kole with a single fire trap in Lunaris if it crits, and I've two shot various 66 and 67 map bosses, so concentrated effect isn't even required to do high single target dps (as long as you're using Searing Touch I suppose).