[3.5] BV PeneTRItor Elementalist

Hello fellow exiles. I am Siza and I have been playing this game since September 2012. I mostly followed build guides from these forums but have been experimenting with my own builds recently. This league I went with a Blade Vortex Elementalist, which is somewhat inspired by a build the streamer Nugiyen did a couple of leagues ago. The build stacks elemental penetration.

While inpulsa BV is amazing, it's quite expensive and you lose those amazing explosions by Herald of Ice. Going crit sacrifices a lot of points into these crit nodes - which results in lower life and less overall defenses.
I usually plan my builds to be "done" at around level 90 as that's the point at which leveling takes a long long time for every further level.

Keep in mind that this build was planned to be played on a somewhat small budget in a temporary league. It will get you started and grow with your increasing wealth. I have only gotten up to T13 maps yet, but even with 2 player HP, packs explode and bosses melt.

Videos:
Normal Atziri

Anyway, let's get into some stats. Currently my build has:

7100 Life
450 Energy Shield
22% Evasion
40% Dodge (up to 55% with flask and Pantheon)
30% Spell Dodge (up to 40% with flask)
18% Physical Mitigation (with a Basalt up)
2 defensive curses
Fortification
73% penetration for all three elements

While this build has some decent layered defenses, it heavily relies on dodging dangerous spells, attacks or ground effects. You can't facetank whatever the game throws at you in higher level content.

Pros and Cons:
+Fast and safe mapper
+Decent at killing bosses
+Can incorporate MF
+Explosions!
+Active gameplay

-Requires staying awake
-Can't facetank

Passive Tree Level 93

Choices explained:
Q: Why penetration?
A: Because I wanted to try something new which seems to work out so far.

Q: Why no Inpulsa?
A: Because it costs too much. Shroud of the Lightless only requires to be 5-linked which makes it so much cheaper.