Help with Witch Necromancer

Hello!

I'm a new player to PoE, but had a great time in Diablo 2 (skipped 3 because... reasons), and I'm still learning how stuff works.

Right now I have a Lvl 42 Necromancer, built around minions (Skeletons and Zombies), which is supposed to be novice-friendly and cheap - so far, so good, btw!

But now I'm getting less secure on what to do next, so I'd be very grateful to anyone kind enough to help me with the following doubts:
1) Defenses: where should I go next in the Tree?! I'm torn between going the Life or Shield routes, in terms of Passives
2) More Defenses: Again, should I pursue and invest in Passives that help with Elemental / Chaos defenses? Where in the Tree?
3) Stats: There are two Skills that grant +30 to Strength and Dexterity... I'm thinking about assigning 1 point in each of those to meet requirements for skills. Am I doing a mistake?
4) Keystones:
3.1) Minion Instability: Easy to get (2 points), will need to summon more minions but killing hard stuff should be easier. As of now, minions don't usually die and I've invested a lot in attack and durability for them.
3.2) Necromantic Aegis: seems dependent on a nice shield, which isn't cheap. I'm trending towards a "No" to this. Missing something?
3.3) Mind Over Matter: Seems a nice defense since I'm always with high Mana... is it really a good investment?
3.4) Am I missing any other noteworthy Keystones for this build?
5) Items: Right now getting the right items in terms of sockets seems impossible.
6) Ascendancy: Already a Necro with Invoker... next are Flesh Binder, Bone Sculptor, Puppet Master (if I ever reach that far hehehe)... comments?

I have a draft of my desired skill set ("+" means linked to):
Spoiler

CORE SKILL:Main/Armor
1) Raise Zombie + Minion Damage Support + Elemental Focus + Controlled Destruction + Brutality Support [RED] (+ Minion Speed Support??)

CORE SKILL: Shield... or use Vaal Raise Skel in the Armor since the rest is pretty much the same: