gdpr update

well, how you did it is not how this scheme's supposed to work

the use of a service is not allowed to be bound to the acceptance of restrictive ToS.

see here (sorry, in german)

so havning users just accept your "we ban your ass if we don't like it, you have no rights whatsoever and we share data with partners as we seem fit" - ToS is not gonna work.

having said that, i'm not really sure how europe can sue you if you don't care about that agreement.
age and treachery will triumph over youth and skill!
Last bumped on May 24, 2018, 8:59:23 PM
This thread has been automatically archived. Replies are disabled.
same thoughts here. ive read it and.. this doesnt cut it here (EU).

how will they (EU regulators) react? from past experiences - they have their ways.

im pretty sure someone will do a 'whistleblow' preeety soon and check how things go
I read that wall of text. Well, most of it. I'm no expert at law but I do want to nitpick a few points:

"
All Posts must represent your genuine opinion of the matter in question

???

I don't get it. I've never seen such a clause in a ToS before (not that I've read through overly many ToS though). What does this actually mean? Joking and sarcasm are now banned?

Secondly:

"
Disclosing Information: Grinding Gear Games does not sell your personal data to third parties or provide such data to direct marketing companies or other such organisations without your prior consent.

Now I know fuck all about company laws, but this seems like a huge loophole to me. Someone correct me if my thinking is wrong, but with Tencent being the 80% majority shareholder, they are more than likely able to access the personal data right? And THEIR usage of this 'personal data' isn't limited anywhere in any manner. To me it looks like GGG has covered their bases even if Tencent happens to do something with the data collected?