Class confusion

I am fairly new to the game. Played it on PC but didn't take it too far. Now playing on xbox and need to get serious with it. I just need a little guidance. I have combed through the threads and since there are so many ways for one character to go with builds, it gets a little overwhelming. I want to play a tank like character; typical sword and board type...mace will work as well. I am looking for something like the WoW Protection Paladin - can tank, do a little dps, and maybe heal. So my question is this, which class is better suited to that style of play? Is it the Templar Guardian, Duelist Champion, or something else entirely? I see a lot of Wand builds for guardian, even ranged/spell builds, but haven't come across the perfect fit for me yet. I am sure there are some out there, just need a little push in the right direction. I play mostly solo right now, but hope to get deeper into what the game offers eventually. Any advice given will be greatly appreciated.

Update: So right after I posted this, I found a melee Templar build called Sovyn's Lazy Pally. It has the shield and 1H weapon I like, with melee type skills. Hopefully it has survivability and can do a little damage! Anyone have thoughts on this particular build?
Last edited by Karnije1964 on May 18, 2018, 10:47:18 AM
Last bumped on May 21, 2018, 1:28:46 PM
You'd have to link that build for other folks to bother tracking it down. GH&D is a minimum effort zone :P

That said? You're forgetting Juggernaut Marauders, which are the ultimate supreme defensive class. They got Powerbuffed in the recent Ascendancy updates and are pretty ridiculously brutal when built well.