[3.1] The Goddess Is Freed - Oni-Goroshi - Crit Vaal Pact Slayer

Welcome exiles. This is my first build guide (and if I'm honest, the first build I've theorycrafted and tested myself that actually kind of worked). I've tested this build solo self-found (though I play in the normal softcore leagues because I like the option of trading if I want and it's easier than migrating everything from SSF to normal). So the build will be fairly budget, though the sword itself will take a good few hours of grinding to obtain if you don't want to buy it.

0.0 3.2 Changes

I will be re-building this character in 3.2. Without any testing, it looks like taking Slayer is still the optimal path, but since they changed the order of leech nodes, Cruel Lab is now needed to have full sustain. Other than that, this seems relivately unchanged.

1.0 The Overview

- Are you looking for a flexible melee build?
- A reason to use a sword?
- A unique that you can reliably farm? (SSF)
- A satisfying shattering effect?
- A reason to actually ignite mobs again?
- Reasonable clear speed
- Practically Immune from Bleed, Chill, Freeze, and Stun? (Potentially Poison as well)
- Potential to clear most end-game bosses (still testing)

Well, this build may be for you.

Pros

+ Can run most map mods (though I would stay away from Reflect until after uber Lab and not run no/decreased regen maps altogether)
+ Budget or SSF friendly (only required unique is reliably farmable)
+ Reasonable clear speed
+ Flexible
+ HC Viable (be careful!)
+ Easy to sustain life & mana
+ Potential to be able to farm Atziri, Elder, Shaper, Guardians (I'm not a boss killer, so I can't confirm but in theory with mid to high tier gear it should be relatively easy)
+ Scales off of both Physical and Fire Damage
+ We use crit instead of RT like most Marauder/Duelist builds so shattering mobs is an option and a fun and satisfying one at that
+ The Goddess talks to you as you reach certain level milestones and story progression points!