Some questions about ignite / proliferation and ... vaal ice nova

Hi,

I'm kinda new to build theory all i've done so far is pasting some builds from forums and modifying them in early and late game to my needs wich helped me really fast ( brother helped me he played a lot PoE ).
I tried subreddit poe builds / asked ingame if there was a chat channel dedicated to build help since i'm not really fan of boards in general and prefer direct talk ( seems it doesn't exist ) and then .. asking here now :)

My best char died at level 83 two days ago and since that i decided to find something i find original and fun for next run in HC.

Sooo i was thinking of a vaal ice nova prolif using three dragons ( cold damage can ignite ) and then only burning as damage ( i really enjoyed a flameblast debuff build really great before i finaly died " The debuffing Pizza " ).

My questions:

- Does main idea is even possible ? Vaal ice nova cast / repeat on enemies ( since as i can see in video showing VIN it's repeating on pack aside of the first one hited by nova ) and then ignite all of them and deal good enough burning damage that can on top of that prolif to others packs.

- Wich ascendancy should i pick ? Elementalist ? Or going crit inquisito since as i understand crit always inflict status aliments ?

- First goal is to obtain a working tree ( unoptimized just as a proof of concept ) doing at least lab up to merciless but the fact is i'm really bad at that and even with guides i saw around on forum and elsewhere i've no idea where i should really start. And beeing honest weeks arn't longer enough to allow me testing a build 15 times before it start to work.
Don't need something perfect to start but at least solid.

Ultimate goal is of course beeing able to create my builds alone. But for that and it's the best question what are the steps you are following ? Do you have a kind of methodology you would share with me ?