Building a Cold Witch need advice on tree

Just like the title says. I'm trying to plan a build ahead of time for my witch and want advice on how I can improve my build. It's based on maximizing cold damage. I'm still new to the game.

https://www.pathofexile.com/passive-skill-tree/AAAABAMBAAFvBAcFQgW1DdEOSBBYEQ8RUBSwFdcXVBslHU8d2R8CIG4igST9KgsqWyycLL8tHzB8MjQ1uTbFN4FBlkM2Q1REq0V8RwZLrkwtTLNQMFFHUrJS7FPUVEdVrlZKVmNZvFxrXfJfKmNDZJ1tGXBSdFV4znn2ghCCHoRIhq6IQonTi3qMNo2Cjb-OPI-mj_qVBJeXm6GeoZ7EnwGkeKa-pyuus6-btDi0xbmTwUnBxcHVwuzDCcNtxSjI3NDQ0PXR5NMb2VvbAtte2-fe-N-K37Di9-NW44Tk6-UZ51TpAuvk6_XsGPId8uH0cfZb99f5yPv1_h3_3g==

The build will be a CoC Wand build using these gems so far.

Barrage
Critical Strikes Support
Cast on Crit
Pierce
Arctic Breath
Glacial Cascade

If you have any advice on the gems as well I would appreciate it.
Last edited by TwistedVanguard on Aug 24, 2016, 3:09:36 PM
Last bumped on Aug 25, 2016, 10:23:18 AM
If you want that to be your starting character in the new league i strongly recommend a life instead of a CI build. It will be difficult to get the right es gear on a first char.
Besides you will probably end up wearing a tabula rasa as you need the 6 link and as CI you can't afford to loose the potential ES from a chest.

Your tree ain't good for a coc build:
The damage from a coc build comes from proccing multiple spells as often as possible. Only if the proc speed is much higher than the cast speed when selfcasting, then the damage will be higher for a coc build.
That means your number one priority is to ramp up crit chance, accuracy (if not using a vagan dagger) and attack speed. Spell damage nodes are secondary. If you invest too much in the latter at the expense of the former your build won't work.

Wand isn't the best weapon choice.
A vagan dagger that never misses is much easier to aquire than an imbued wand with high crit and attack speed.