Open Letter to Chris Wilson (on making the labyrinth more inclusive)

Hi Chris,

I'd like to address something you said in your May 22nd interview. I'm sending this to you personally, but I'm posting it in the feedback forum ("Open Letter to Chris Wilson") as well so that others can comment on and, if necessary, disagree with it and give their reasons why. I've never done this before, and I'll probably never do it again, but it's important enough to me to do it now.

In the interview you said, "I understand a lot of the community don't like the Labyrinth" and "Many people are happy to go through it. Many people really hate it." So you understand that it is unpopular with a significant* minority of the community, but do you understand why?

(*What is signicant? I'd say any number greater than 10% is cause for concern, particularly when a change is hated so strongly as to drive people to leave the game entirely. Do you think the number is higher than 10%?)

This comment (at around the 40-minute mark) in particular jumped out at me as indicative that you perhaps do not fully understand the reasons for opposition to the Labyrinth: "It's great to have an action RPG where there's some areas where you have to be careful... I understand that it doesn't go with the clear speed meta that we have at the moment. This is a slower-paced content maybe for a slower-paced Path of Exile."

And that's the first problem. The Labyrinth is NOT a slower-paced Path of Exile. Not by any stretch of the imagination. Its entire design is wrapped around clearing it as quickly as possible, for reasons I will get into below.