[2.1] 100% Fire Wild Strike

Update: I made a video!

Guide

I’ve played several ARPGs (mostly D2) and I started playing PoE at the end of Warbands. I am a softcore player so this build is written from a softcore perspective. If you are a hardcore player keep that in mind if you choose to follow this build by picking up more defensive items and passives. The Marauder is probably the best start for a hardcore character or those who want to be tankier.

I find the melee abilities that do multiple elemental types of damage interesting. In D2, I have tried several times to make a Vengeance Paladin or a Phoenix Strike Assassin without much success. Mechanically, these types of skills had some problems that made them pretty terrible. With Vengeance, the mana cost of the skill and the lack of mana leech made the build unsustainable. Phoenix Strike was lacking damage. Wild Strike has some problems with scaling and links. By converting the damage to pure fire, I traded some of the benefits of Wild Strike (the ability to shock and freeze) for more damage.

What is Wild Strike?

To paraphrase the wiki, Wild Strike is a melee attack that converts 60% of the physical damage of the ability into a random element. The initial melee strike has the keywords: melee, attack, and the random element. If the fire element is chosen, a circle explosion of fire is triggered at the location of the melee target. The fire explosion of the attack has the keywords: attack, AoE, and fire. If the lightning element is chosen, an arc of lightning originating at the melee target chains to other enemies. The arc of the attack has the keywords: attack, lightning, and chain. If the cold element is chosen, three waves of ice spread out from the melee target and propagate towards the edges of the screen. The cold portion of the attack has the keywords: attack, cold, and projectile. All portions of that attack will do the same amount of damage not accounting for individual keywords.