[2.1] Elemental Explosion Build - Advice and Planning

I am still quite new to the game, and have done a fair amount of research, but you just can't replace an experienced and personalized look at your ideas. I am most concerned about survivability. Most guides I see seem to just rattle off a "style" of defense and say nothing more... As a new player, that tells me very little about just what I should be looking for to survive higher end play. So any input would be appreciated!

Build Concept
- Softcore Character
- Survival comes from a combination of hybrid life & energy shield, buffered with minions and some crowd control.
- Primary damaging skills thusfar are storm call and flameblast supported by an ice nova totem.
- Goal is to use thoughtful and timing dependent high powered spells in conjunction with elemental equilibrium to simply blow the stuffing out of things from behind a line of minions.

Notable Design Specifics
- Ice Nova totem with increased area and blind chance. For support via triggering elemental equilibrium and improving survival of myself and minions with crowd control. All fights begin with this being tossed in to the fray.
- Minions are only there to soak damage. If they deal some, cool. But I'm not a minion master.
- Will be manually tossing elemental weakness curse on things.
- Standard play will consist of a sizeable army of minions at the front, ice nova totem tossed in to the fray, followed by elemental weakness curse, and then having heavily beefed up storm calls and flame blasts going off in between the ice nova pulses. I love the idea of these well prepared and ultra hard hitting damage punches as all of the storm calls hit at once, or a heavily charged flameblast detonates on the elemental equilibrium debuff from the totem.

Current Passive Tree
Spoiler