[3.0] Gilded Cage's Comprehensive Guide to Maps

YJDX2gb

Note

Mapping hasn't really changed from 2.6 to 3.0. The major difference is that bosses are more difficult - namely they have more life than they used to. I have been travelling overseas for several months so I haven't had a chance to reevaluate the relative ratings of each map. Will do a large update when I return home to New Zealand which will probably be around the release of 3.1

Preface

Lyralei’s original guide which helped me learn about maps when I first started playing over three years ago is horribly out-dated. This guide aims to help both beginners learn how the end-game map system works in Path of Exile as well as help those looking for a reference on which map bosses and mod combinations are dangerous.
I am by no means a master of maps but rather someone who has put a lot of time and research to provide something that I think would be useful for the community. Please feel free to point out any errors and provide suggestions to how I can improve this guide. I will try to maintain it best I can :)

Contents
Preface
Map Basics
  • What are maps?
  • How do I find maps?
  • How do I run maps?
  • What is the purpose of mapping?

Other Map Information
  • Zana Master Cartographer
  • Vendoring maps
  • Shaping maps
  • Unidentified maps
  • Corrupted maps
  • Vaal Fragments
  • Cartographer's Sextants
  • Cartographers Strongboxes

Art of Mapping
  • Starting Mapping
  • How to roll maps?

Affixes Guide
Map by Map Analysis
References and Additional Resources

Map Basics

What are maps?
Maps act as Path of Exile’s end-game content. They serve as items which can be placed into a map device (and then consumed) to generate an instance. This map instance contains monsters and a unique boss at the end of each map. Maps have varying difficulty ranging from tier 1 maps (level 68 mobs) to tier 16 maps (level 83 mobs).