Rarity of items and their value

SO I'm coming off of Diablo... In those games rare and high-end items had a high value in gold, so you had to play quit a bit to save up. In POE it seems it's very easy to by powerful items. Maybe I'm because I'm a newbie and item with say 50 armor or deals 20 damage and adds 12 elemental damage.. is considered powerful.. But it seems all it takes is a gem or 2 to get them. How do we place value on gear then? Or is it again because I'm only level 20, and everything seems easy? And to piggy back off that question.. I'm a level 20 duelist and only died twice in the entire time I was playing? Is it once more because it's too early in the game or is the game much easier?
Just keep playing. There are items that cost hundreds of exalts, an item I've seen maybe 5 drops of in ~1500 hours played. You just need to get to the higher levels to reach the point where you would want such items. Leveling items tend to only cost a chaos or two at most.

The difficulty will go up too. You're likely to hit a lot of problems in act 4.
Last edited by DichotomousThree on Nov 28, 2015, 4:38:01 PM
For people experienced with the game, it's fairly easy to reach level 60+ in a day or two. PoE is pretty easy until then, so you aren't going to see much of an economy at lower levels with so little demand for items.

I wouldn't even worry about trading until you have a better feel for what's going on and have higher level characters.
IGN: Smegmazoid
Long live the new Flesh

Give it some time exile, the game gets harder as you level up.

It's designed to be fairly easy and straight forward for new players, after all, if it was very hard many would just give up and leave.

Level 20 is very low. You have a long journey ahead of you my friend.

As far as gear goes, at your level you can just use what you find on the ground or in chests.

Good luck.

"
warriorsdeal wrote:
In POE it seems it's very easy to by powerful items.