Current state of PvP in PoE - Question from a newcomer

Hello,
I'm quite new to Path of Exile, however I'm experienced in most of online game types, especially if it comes to PvP oriented ones.

I'd like to ask you guys how is PvP in PoE.
1. Is PvP popular? If yes, which one - low level or high level?
2. Is PoE more 1v1 or 3v3 oriented?
3. Are tournaments organized on between decent, short periods of time?
4. Is it worth to play PoE if you are PvP-oriented player?
5. Is PoE's PvP Balanced? Please answer me for 1v1, 3v3 in both cases: 28 and Open.
6. Is CTF popular?
7. Is it worth to spend massive amounts of time to develop your high level character with proper gear or is it better just to stick to low level pvps?
8. Is anything going to change in upcoming 2.0, PvP-wise?
9. Is every character viable? Are there FOTMs that just rule on current condition of the game?
10. Do you need to create separate character for PvP and separate for PvE purposes?

Thank you in advance.

Best regards,
Hoshee
Hello Hoshi,

1. It's fairly popular, however I honestly think it was better pre 1.3, before all the ggg did(which obviously was good) and somehow a lot of people either just got bored or got dissapointed since a lot of people I know did loose their interest in pvp. Regarding which is more active to date, I'd honestly say HLD as there's always people in the sarn arenas, ladder wise LLD is possibly a bit more active though not by a hugh ammount.

2. After playing 1000s of 1v1 I find them pointless, it's not really much tactic but rather rush/hope to counter your enemy. 3v3 is where atleast most I know have the most fun. It requires a syngergized team as well as good tactics and knowledge.