Advice for a newbie Summoner Witch?

I started playing about a week ago and I've read up on some of the Summoner Witch builds. I think I've got the basic idea, which is to pretty much let the minions do the work. Act 1 and 2 were pretty easy and I breezed through them. However, in act 3 my witch is dying at least once in ever instance. I don't think averaging that kind of death rate is going to work out well in the next level of difficulty. So any advice on what I can improve?

Current Passive Tree

The plan for my Passive Tree so far is to open all the Minion nodes, get some elemental resistance, and probably get the Hex Master and maybe Whispers of Doom if I can't choose between Vulnerability and Enfeeble, the two curse gems I have so far. I was also planning on getting passives for increased fire damage if I could verify that it would also increase the damage for Raging Spirit. As for Raise Specter, I don't think I'll be using it. Seems kind of pointless to spend skill points on boosting my minions only to have the specter decrease their life, energy shield, and damage.

However, seeing as to how my witch only has 399 hp/566 energy shield at level 35, I'm guessing my plans need to change before I finish act 3. Do I need to get more hp/energy shield passives before the Minion nodes or should I get the stats from gear? Should I get a dexterity passive or two?

Gear
Spoiler

As for the chest piece, I have a Jeweller's orb I could use to get a 4 slot which I'd like to link my Raise Skeletons gem with Minion Damage and Life, but what are the chances I could end up with 2 or fewer slots? Should I wait to find another witch piece with 4 slots and upgrade it?

Thanks in advance.
For curse go for enfeeble if you want survivability.

As for socket / link your items.. you can wait til later. At Normal it makes not much difference. I literally ignore socket/link stuff until at least I got into A1 Merc.