Need suggestions for Asenath's Gentle Touch gloves

OK, I'm new to the game. I am currently building a ST w/decent melee char. and best armor I can get. Having got these gloves on a drop, and even though I hate the idea of giving up a good chunk of armor, I'm wondering if the benefits would outweigh that and HOW I should use them. I don't understand quite how they work w/support gems and what I should put in them and what needs to be linked on them, i.e. Added Duration should work w/0 being linked to anything, but would other gems? Should I add more sockets and links? Should I even use these on a build focused on armor?
Well, I cant get the gloves to link, but basically they have 2L blue sockets.
Armor is only one of the things you should look for on your items. If something has an overall greater value but is an off-item I find that it's more often worth it to use that item. Even better yet, it helps give you an item that can more easily get "off color" gem slots for the gems you use that aren't your primary color.

If you don't already use curses, Asenath's Gentle touch will be a good item for many levels. It will decrease the DPS of any enemy by 25% because of the temporal chains curse. This will negate way more damage than any armor on gloves could negate, especially if you're already using armor on all your other peices.

They will not work with support gems. The mod on the gloves is "Cast this spell when hit" not "cast this spell with gems in this item as supports" Assuming you continue to hit things with it, they will reset the duration and you won't ever have to worry about the duration.

Using abilities that do area of effect or adding area of effect through melee splash or multistrike will curse everything around you that you hit, though. Make sure you're using some sort of area of effect to maximize the usage of the item.
"
PsionicKitten wrote: