State of zoom issue

I'm a veteran player (I started with text-based MUDs!) and I've played tons of MMOs. This game offers such promise. But right now it's just not playable. The max zoom-out is not enough, I play on a laptop and other characters attack me before I'm even able to see them (I play max zoomed-out). Everything feels messy and random that way, it's difficult to even find a certain way because you don't even see where you are walking.

Of course I've searched this issue on the forums and found dozens of threads, which instead of helping me only confused me (different things said in different threads). An structured support section (q&a with votes for best responses, etc.) would be a step in the right direction.

For what I've understood there's a problem with performance if you zoom-out too much (number of elements rendered), but shouldn't we be able to choose that?.

Is this issue being addressed?, it's difficult to find an original MMO and this is, but being massacred before even being able to see the opponent is not fun. Yesterday I was killed by something/someone that cast me some kind of fire storm and I still don't know what/who it was because it wasn't even on-screen...
Path of Exile is not an MMO.

Performance is not the only reason for the current zoom level. And even if we made it an option, people would always use it at max zoom out anyway, even if their computers can't handle it and then they would complain about it.

Sorry, but we have no plans to allow further zoom out (in fact, it used to be even further in).

Thank you for taking the time to search the forums first and do some research into the matter, though.
Code warrior