PLEASE help me : Templar Melee Summoner

I only started playing recently and I'm completely lost when it comes to efficient build.
I really like the Templar look and voice, and the overall strength/intelligence concept is pretty cool to me.

I wish to make a summoner. Yet I don't want to just sit back and watch while my minions do all the butchering.
So I wish to fight along my minions, and preferably in melee.
I also want my melee to be efficient, not just there for me to pass time.

Melee could also mean any close range attack

So what would be an efficient build combining Minions + Melee?
What sort of melee skills should I pick? What passive skills?

I want both my melee and Summons to be pretty efficient.

Every tips are welcome :)

PS : My weapon of interest are staff and Shield+Mace. So I'm more inclined any build including one of them (or a combination).
My question also applies to what kind of melee/other skill gems I would require.
I'm working on a similar build right now. I'm actually going for the same weapon setup, Mace/Shield & Staff. The approach I'm using is to build my INT and summons first, and use elemental attack gems to increase my effectiveness in melee. So far I've found I really have to build up INT and focus on Mana regen/limit, by doing this, I've managed to completely forego standard melee attacks; if a fight lasts long enough for my mana to deplete, I just fall back and let my summons soak up aggro and damage as my mana regens.

My current is still very young, my previous build made it to level 29 before the wipe. It's definitely workable, it just takes some experimenting to fine tune it.

Good luck!
I see, so you put the focus on elemental. I believe you won't focus on staff/mace passive skill then. More like overall elemental passive skills.

I was thinking about a fairly interesting shield/staff combo.

I take necromantic aegis and some shield skills. When I want my minions to tank more, I switch to mace+shield.