New Lag

I have been playing Path for a couple of months now. The only issue I was having was occasional extreme "mouse lag" when working in menus (character menu, inventory menu, etc.) By this I mean that everything except for my cursor would be running properly. I move my mouse, and my cursor could take a half to a full second to show up where I moved it. As I said, this issue was originally only with menus, so did not critically affect game play- just required patience.

Since the most recent patch, I now have this kind of cursor lag, coupled with general lag, almost constantly, without any menus open, but it is exacerbated with inventory open, for example. I have tried lowering all of my visual settings to no avail. My system specs are this:

Processor: AMD A10-6800K APU with Radeon HD Graphics 4.29 GHz
RAM: 8GB
64-bit OS (Windows 7)

So I'm quite at a loss. When I have the most lag, I have very dense wave spikes for FPS and Frame Time. (I don't know if this is normal.) FPS seems to jump back and forth rapidly between ~60 and ~30.

As I said, I played the game for months without any lag. I had slight issues recently. Then I did not play for 1 week (Aug. 17th - 25th), downloaded patch(es) upon return, and now I can often have seconds of stillness where there should be action, particularly with my cursor. Nothing has changed about my internet and I do not experience this kind of lag with any other programs.

"What gives," if I may?
"
FPS seems to jump back and forth rapidly between ~60 and ~30.

This is the proper behavior with vsync on, when the FPS cannot sync to 60, they go at half that. Disable vsync to get better performance during the lulls.

"
Since the most recent patch, I now have this kind of cursor lag,

This problem is a bit harder to track down.