Let it Flow - About PoE's User Experience

Greetings!

A tiny bit about me: I have been a UI/UX designer for roughly ten years now, working on anything from websites, phone/web apps and video games.

Please read this with the right mindset: I love this game, and have nothing but respect for Grinding Gear Games - the attitude they demonstrate towards their playerbase is nothing short of stellar, and I wish for the time I took to write this up to be recognized as proof of my respect.

Table of Contents

It's only now dawned on me how dauntingly massive these two posts have become, what with my OCD-esque habit of addings bits here and there. Here's a breakdown of what's to follow, if you're after something precise:

First Post - UI/UX Elements
• Flow Introduction
• Login Menu
• Character Selection
• Logging In/Out
• Stash
• Merchants
• Trade Window
• Identifying Rares
• Zone Resetting
• Choosing Spells/Attacks
• Skill & Support Gems
• Leveling Gems
• Characters
• Feedback on Action
• Buffs & Debuffs
• Looting
• Customization
• Gear
• Friends List
• Chat Window
• Microtransactions

Second Post - Gameplay Elements
• Animation
• Spell Effects
• Combat
• Solo/Multiplayer
• Economy
• Progression
• Looting
• Trading

There is a very important concept when designing User Interfaces that must be at the forefront of any decisions made: Flow. Flow is comprised of multiple facets and levels, but the most important idea behind Flow is making the user experience as smooth as possible, with little to no breaks or bumps in the road that might complicate the task unecessarily. The use of conventions, common sense and intuitive design is the key here, which can be much easier said than done.