[3.3] Defense is a good Offense | Arc Trapper | All Content

Hello everyone! This is my first build guide and so if you have any questions, comments, or recommendations, feel free to leave them below.

So there's a million arc trapper builds out there that advertise 2m+ shaper dps but that's unnecessary. Arc traps don't need that much damage in order to trivialize all content so I decided to get a lot more defense and utility.

Here's a preview of my stats at level 96 with flasks.

PROS
Spoiler

+ cheap, 2ex~ excluding 6L
+ 200% life on tree, easy 6.5k hp
+ 30%+ spell dodge w/o phase acro
+ blind (Born in the Shadows)
+ probably HC viable (im a SC scrub)

CONS
Spoiler

- dps is a little lacking for uber elder, doable in SC, deathless only if good at dodging (im not)
- not 5s guardian kills, more like 30s

CURRENT GEAR
Spoiler

EQUIPMENT
Spoiler

EXPLANATION
Spoiler

CHAOS RESISTANCE!! And spell dodge makes incursions ezpz.

Weapons: Dual Wield vs Shield
So shield charge is an obvious plus here, but you can whirling blades with daggers or leap with sceptres. But if you were to choose dual wield, the obvious choice would two Shimmerons for the damage. I chose the shield for the mobility. Also specifically using for the supreme spiked shield base for the 4% spell dodge.

Weapon: Shimmeron vs Rare
I like the rare over the Shimmeron cuz I can shield charge. Damage is not an issue for shaper and t15 elder. I prioritized atkspd, spell crit, spell dmg, crit multi, in that order. (ignore the phys as random ele line on mine, its useless, also crafted cold dmg so i can shatter some what) Just to throw this out there, Doryani's Catalyst isn't bad.

Gloves: Throw additional trap gloves
I don't see another option for this.

Body: Tinkerskin vs Loreweave vs Shaper Rare
A shaper rare would need to have base spell crit and a bunch of life. This sounds expensive. ):
Loreweave is great for 80% max res and a bit of damage.