Physical attack skills vs spells

Is it just me or do attack skills seem to do way more damage than spells? Not talking about stat sticks.

I started playing a shadow and used viper strike + frost blades through most of act 1. I was easily one shotting packs of mobs and bosses died really quickly.

I got to Merveil, decided to try out essence drain since I had heard good things about it, and tried a contagion+essence drain+void manipulation support setup.

So I cast, and I sit around waiting for 1+ seconds for weak trash mobs to die. Is that it? Merveil took forever to kill. I even took DOT skill nodes and was wearing a 60% damage doedre's tenure.

Clear speed and single target DPS is obviously way worse. And I obviously wasnt using stat sticks with frost blades.

I feel like I just nerfed myself trying to use essence drain...
Last bumped on Apr 22, 2018, 11:19:03 PM
It's harder to make essence drain really strong with twink uniques early game. It doesn't benefit from added flat damage, which is really easy to get a lot of early on. Also, early game enemies are balanced for pretty lame weapons, if you bring along the princess or something of course you will murder everything. Same issue with Caustic arrow.

Try using essence drain vs viper strike on an SSF character and you'll probably find viper strike sucks too.

Also note you only really have one support gem for essence drain at that level.
Face it, all of your suggestions are worse than this idea:
http://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/657756
Last edited by dudiobugtron on Apr 22, 2018, 7:33:44 AM