[HC] Shadow Fire Trap In-Depth Guide: By Righteous Fire

Hey guys, I just wanted to throw out a HC Fire Trap guide for all those looking for one. I've been searching the forums looking for a nice Hardcore Fire Trap build but found it difficult to find a solid one. Below will be my build and an explanation/methodology of its components. I don't claim I am an expert to this build nor this game, so I will be updating this guide while I learn new things.

Here is the 94-point Passive Skill Tree

Please note this is the bare-bones of the full build. Passive-bonus summary, explanation, and possible branch-offs of the tree will be discussed further in the guide.

Guide Updated 2/27/2013
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
Guide Index:

(I) FAQ
(II) About the Build
(III) Skill Gems Rundown
(IV) List of Gems
(V) Equipment
(VI) Gem Links
(VII) Combat: How to Play
(VIII) Passive Skill Tree Progression
(IX) Changelog
(X) Conclusion

_____________________________________________________________________________________________
(I) FAQ:

"
Can you use multiple Fire Traps on your active skill bar?

Yes, also with Bear Traps. You can only have 3 traps active on the ground but you can have more than 3 traps in reserve if you have more than one Fire Trap or Bear Trap equipped.

"
How difficult is this build to level/execute?

Leveling with three to four Fire Traps and the Ethereal Knives spell makes this build very effective when it comes to AoE and weaving through combat. By utilizing Bear Traps to knock down high HP and high priority targets, this build is very easy to level solo with.

"
Is this build gear dependent?

No, this build can actually be made from scratch. The only equipment requirement that may be needed later on would be 4 slots which are easily attainable via trade/farming.

"
Does this build rely on Critical Strikes to do damage?