Reasons less women are in tech/IT than men

I'm jw what everyone's opinion here is.

A google employee recently was fired over a rant he made on internal google boards about how he feels that there are less women in IT/software development than men because they lack interest in the subject.

He then went on to say that trying to bring the number of women employed in these respective departments to parity with the human population was counter productive because less women naturally belong in IT/software development because less are interested.

What are your thoughts on what the ex-google employee said? Do any of you guys work in IT/software development and feel the same way? Or the opposite?

I work in IT on the data modeling side for a large company and I definitely feel like there are less women in the field than men. I also feel that the women that ARE employed here are quite good, but there are not many. Of the women that I know, very few to zero are interested in my area of expertise, but I'm also a very small sample size.

I think many people who read the employee's rant misinterpreted it as some sexist statement saying that women suck at IT/software development, but that wasn't the case. I think women are equally as capable of being good at software development or IT, but if you HATE something really bad, even if you could be good at it, you would probably choose to do something else, right? That was what the guy's argument boiled down to: Are women less interested in technology than men are.
Last bumped on Oct 11, 2017, 10:24:56 AM
Having studied IT at Florida International University, the male to female ratio in the IT courses I took were roughly 9:1 with the exception of an IT ethic course (stuff about piracy, hacking, and etc), it was close to 7:3, but still leaning 8:2 since it was a big class and was flexible to other majors too.