Help with ED contagion char

Hello

Ive been playing this game for ~2-2.5 years, and never passed lvl 87.
Havent been much a competitive player and always played fast and high dmg builds, because i had rather busy schedule and id be able to play PoE only on weekends. Didnt felt investing into currency tabs will help, and so i never had more that 4-5 exalts in my inventory. I want to change that.

So, i started playing breach with Life based Scion. Yes, it was awful. Begging for normal lvling gems, struggling early with breaches, but i made it to 59. By now i converted to ED. But i feel like i didnt quite grasp the playstyle. Can someone with expirience with ED buillds help me? Like, tips on playstyle and gearing etc. I like the builds single target and dmg overall, but dislike its inconsistency. I really want to go 90+ this league.

Thanks in advance.
Last bumped on Dec 8, 2016, 2:24:14 PM
Playstyle is use contagion and ed - ed does most of the damage, contagion spreads it. You need to maximise damage for the ed so ideally a 6 link (tabula rasa works) and get some aoe on contagion (aoe gem linked). Consuming dark dagger isn't a bad choice for weapon as it's cheapish. I have wither attached to a spell totem for bosses and the like to help break thru high chaos res.

I got to about lvl 75 with a 3 link ed-rapid decay-controlled destruction but I invested quite heavily into damage on the tree (projectile, spell, chaos, damage over time). The build is great for map clearing but not so great for the big bosses.

End game 6link ideally is a +1 gems chest (again corrupted tabula probably cheapest option although GGGBBR skin of the loyal is also great if you can find one. Socket colours are non-negotiable - you really want ed-controlled des-void manip-rapid decay-pierce-empower for maximum dps (and I feel it will be necessary if you have ambitions of shaper and the like).